What do YOU have in your Closet?

Do you ever stand in front of your closet full of clothes and feel like you have nothing to wear? Have you spent WAAAAY too much money on shoes or clothes this year? Have you ever hid a clothing or shoe purchase from a friend of relative?

If you’ve answered “Yes” to any of these questions, no, you aren’t cray cray; in fact, you’re pretty normal (well, with regard to clothes and shopping, at least).

According to this article by Closet Factory’s Phanna Kloth, women have many particular shopping habits. Here are some of the highlights:

  • 14% of women hide some of their shoe purchases from others

Aiight, I’ve personally never done this, but I KNOW some of my friends have. Have you ever hidden a guilty shoe conscience?

  • Women buy 3 handbags each year

For real, only 3?? I’ve bought like 6 since July….don’t judge me.

  • 40% of women shop while at work

Guilty as charged, although I don’t do this nearly as often as I used to. I’m sure this percentage goes up among women who are”displeased” with their jobs….

  •  8.5 years of a woman’s life is spent shopping

Wow, that’s impressive!!

  • The average woman spends $49 on a pair of shoes, four times each year

Ok, $49 seems kinda low, but that could only be because I’m financially irresponsible when it comes to footwear expenditures.

And four times a year? That seems low too. What do you guys think?

  • Women wear 20% of their clothes 80% of the time

I thought this stat was really interesting. If you’re like me, you don’t wear everything that’s in your closet, and you wear your favorite stuff all of the time. Actually, I’ve heard that women only wear like a third of what’s in their closet!

Why is that? I can think of my own reasons: 1) Doesn’t fit and I wish it did (every woman’s pair of “skinny jeans” could fit in this category); 2) I spent a lot of money on it so I don’t wanna throw it out, but I don’t feel like wearing it; 3) Too much maintenance, like dry clean or hand-wash only; 4) It needs to go with some other clothing item/accessory that I don’t own yet; 5) I like my other clothes better, so I don’t wear it!

Do you guys wear everything that’s in your closet? Why don’t you wear certain items? Do you agree with these stats? Let us know in the comments!

Kristen P.

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “What do YOU have in your Closet?”

  1. Natalie Heather says :

    I loved reading this! I agree with all of your reasons for not wearing certain things in the closet – especially that one about it being high maintenance (who knew clothing could be high maintenance?!). Just last week I bought a really comfy, oversized knit sweater that I thought would be great over a pencil skirt or with jeans. But after ripping off the tag, I realized that it wasn’t as oversized as I would have liked. It is now my at home, lazy day top. I have convinced myself this is money not wasted since it is really comfortable!

    • SeamBliss says :

      Hi Natalie, thanks for reading! I feel like the “high maintenance” thing is a big deterrent for a lot of people, and it’s even worse when it’s “unexpected” lol. I know that I’ve bought a few really cute clothing items WITHOUT looking at the label, only to be faced with the dreaded “HAND WASH ONLY” tag when laundry day rolled around! I’m glad you found a great use for the sweater you bought – lazy day tops are the best!!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Six Style Resolutions We Can All Get Behind « SeamBLiSS - January 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

